Love, Rosie.

This is going to be flying-visit-review I’m afraid. I’m strapped for time but I really want to post my review about this book.

Love, Rosie.

By Cecelia Ahern.

Pages: 558.

Rating: 4.5 /5.Love rosie

From the back cover:

“Best friends since forever, Rosie and Alex have shared their hopes, dreams – and firsts. But one awkward moment at eighteen, one missed opportunity, and life sends them hurtling in different directions. Although they stay in touch, misunderstandings, circumstances and sheer bad luck seem to be conspiring to keep them apart. Can they gamble everything – even their friendship – on true love?”

*

From the first page I was sucked into the story of Rosie and Alex, from their first letters to one another as children, to their not-so-private instant messages at secondary school and their emails to one another from opposite sides of the globe. For Rosie and Alex there is obstacle after obstacle which prevents them from being together, as the reader I found myself shouting (in my head, I’m not a total crazy person) at them to just confess their love for one another already. It was frustrating, heart-wrenching and so moving; I couldn’t put it down.

The medium of letters, emails, chat room print outs and instant messages made this a very original read for me. I don’t think I have ever read a book before in which the whole story was portrayed just through written/typed methods of communication. I found that it kept me hooked into the story as I wanted to know what they were both really feeling; I wanted to read their communications with others and hear their true feelings over the latest misunderstanding or unfortunate obstacle. Alex and Rosie are such wonderful characters that you can’t help but fall in love with them. Rosie is the most honest and raw female protagonist who’s point of view I have ever had the pleasure of reading.

I cannot wait to see the film, Lily Collins will be a perfect Rosie in my opinion, I hope that I am not disappointed! Since finishing Love, Rosie I have begun reading another book by Cecelia Ahern, The Book of Tomorrow, I think she is going to be a firm favourite on my bookshelf.

I most definitely recommend this book. Just read it for yourself and see if you can not fall in love with Rosie.

This book was previously published under the title Where Rainbows End.

2 comments on “Love, Rosie.

Leave a Reply

