Top Ten Tuesday #13

toptentuesdayFor this week’s Top Ten Tuesday it is time to pick places whether they be fictional or real that books have made me want to visit. I have picked five real places and 5 fictitious ones. I have also given a book which is set in each of the places 🙂

Ten Places Books Have Made Me Want To Visit

Real Places:

Chicago – so many of my favourite books are set in or have scenes in Chicago and it just sounds wonderful. The Windy City. I really want to go!   – The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.

Sweden – There’s just something about its description in books that makes me think it would be a great place to visit.  – The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson.

North Carolina – I have read many books set in this area and it sounds amazing. So different to anywhere that I have ever been before, definitely different to where I live.   – True Believer by Nicholas Sparks.

New York – it’s one of those places on most people’s lists I imagine but it always sounds so magical and diverse I’d love to go and wander round.   – Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote.

Scotland – I have been to parts of Scotland before but I’d really like to visit the Highlands and the Isle of Skye, again it just sounds magical and beautiful. Although it’s in the UK it really could be a world away. – Burned (House of Night) by P.C and Kristin Cast.

Fictional Places:

Narnia – ever since I was a child I have hoped to find the way into Narnia through my wardrobe. No luck yet but I will keep on looking.   – The Lion The Witch and The Wardrobe by C.S Lewis.

Hogwarts – Obviously! My letter got lost in the post…right?   – Harry Potter series by J.K Rowling.

Westeros – George R.R Martin has created a world in which the adult me would love to go and explore. I wouldn’t play The Game of Thrones but I’d still like to visit The Wall, ride horses with the Dothraki and have dinner with the Lannisters.   – A Song of Ice and Fire by George R.R Martin.

Whoville – a bit of a strange one I know but The Grinch is one of my favourite Christmas stories I’d love to celebrate the Whobilation!   – The Grinch Who Stole Christmas by Dr. Seuss.

Idris – I want to go to the homeland of the Shadowhunters and be one of them. Please let me!   – City of Bones by Cassandra Clare.

Would you want to visit any of these places too? What others would you add? If only we could go!

4 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday #13

Leave a Reply

