Gone Girl

 

Gone Girl.

By Gillian Flynn.

Pages: 395 (Kindle)

Rating: 4/5

From Amazon:

Who are you?

What have we done to each other?

These are the questions Nick Dunne finds himself asking on the morning of his fifth wedding anniversary, when his wife Amy suddenly disappears. The police suspect Nick. Amy’s friends reveal that she was afraid of him, that she kept secrets from him. He swears it isn’t true. A police examination of his computer shows strange searches. He says they weren’t made by him. And then there are the persistent calls on his mobile phone. So what really did happen to Nick’s beautiful wife?

*

I am not going to do a brief summary of Gone Girl as I do not think that I could without giving away some spoilers or at least clues to possible spoilers.

I am normally very good at predicting what will happen in a book but the plot twist in this book was simply…W-O-W! I did not see it coming, maybe I should have but I didn’t.

When I first began reading this book I did find it difficult to get in to. I didn’t find myself warming to the characters in the slightest, both Nick and Amy seemed self-absorbed, conceited and just plain strange, but after persevering through the at times tedious first chapters I found myself intrigued. What was it about these two individuals which transformed them from loved-up newlyweds into a volatile ball of hate? Both Nick and Amy are unreliable narrators and it is hard to get a sense of what is actually true. Is Nick telling the truth? Is Amy’s side of the story the real one? Are they both liars? Who knows! – I definitely had fun finding out!

If you enjoy thrillers with real heart-stopping plot twists then this book is for you. I will definitely be reading more of Gillian Flynn’s novels.

*

As a little extra note I would also like to recommend the film starring Ben Affleck as Nick Dunne and Rosamund Pike as Amy Elliott Dunne. They are wonderful actors and portray Nick and Amy’s story so well it’s frightening! Definitely not a Date Night movie though! My fiancé and I went to watch is as part of our Date Night and it kind of killed the romantic vibe. Ha!

P.S I sincerely apologise for this being my first book review in over a month. It’s unforgiveable I know, but I have been rushed off of my feet with my teacher training. I’m going to work harder at making time for my blog and you, my lovely readers. Thank you for your patience.

One comment on “Gone Girl

Leave a Reply

