Top Ten Tuesday #11

toptentuesdayJust a quickie from me for Top Ten Tuesday this week, didn’t want to miss it. It’s time to name those books that were hard to read due to the subject matter, hard-to-read, too cringe worthy etc.

Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read.

The End of Alice by A.M Homes– subject matter was quite disturbing.

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy – just difficult, all of those Russian words and names, plus it was uber long!

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K Rowling – because it was the last one! Boohoo!!! I still feel the pain from that one.

Breaking Dawn by Stephanie Meyer – for the same reason as Harry Potter, I did not want the Twilight Saga to end.

American Psycho by Brett Easton Ellis – I found that it was largely a very boring book, so much description about their clothes etc just weird. Then the ‘action’ scenes were deeply disturbing!

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte – the dialect made parts of it almost impossible to understand and I hated the characters Cathy and Heathcliffe. I also felt guilty for not liking it because it’s considered a ‘Classic’.

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens – very dull but again I felt guilty because it is ‘Classic’ and I’m supposed to like it.

The Northern Lights by Philip Pullman – I’m not sure why I found it so hard to get in to but I did. Reading this book was not a pleasurable experience at all.

Sinner by Maggie Stiefvater – it was so cringe worthy. It was nowhere near the same high quality standard as the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy.

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira – I didn’t like the main character, she whined a lot and was not very relatable making the whole book difficult to read.

2 comments on “Top Ten Tuesday #11

Leave a Reply

