I Need Your Help!

 

Hello fellow bookworms!

I’m back and I need your help. Those of you who regularly read my (recently neglected – sorry!) blog you will know that I am training to be a primary school teacher. One of the most important roles of a teacher is to teach children how to read and to also encourage reading for pleasure. Of course I am a major advocate of reading for pleasure, I’m a bookworm through and through, however my knowledge of children’s literature is limited. I’m working on it, reading recently released children’s books and the classics but I thought I would ask for help from you lovely people.

If you are a parent, have younger siblings, work with children or just love children’s books can you please recommend me some to read?

Do you have a favourite children’s books?

Does your son/daughter/brother/sister/niece/nephew/grandson etc have a book that they love to read over and again or an author that they love?

If you work with children have you seen what they are currently reading?

I’d really appreciate your help with this. Also I have one more favour to ask, our children’s reading levels are falling. More and more children are leaving primary school unable to read, this is not acceptable, something needs to be done. Please follow this link and sign the petition to get the government to commit to ensuring thatΒ ALL of our children are leaving primary school as confident readers by 2025.

Read On Get On.

Sign sign sign!!!

πŸ™‚

10 comments on “I Need Your Help!

  1. As a child one of my favourite books was ‘Pluk van de Petteflet’, which has been translated into English (Tow-Truck Pluck). I wish I could be of more help, but most books I read as a kid I either don’t remember or are Dutch (and not translated)

  2. The students (5th grade) have been reading the chapter book Wonder and they absolutely LOVE it.. One on my all time favorite books in third grade was Time Cat by Lloyd Alexander. It’s about a boy who was sent to his room and he finds out from his cat Gareth that cats don’t have 9 nine lives but can actually travel to 9 different places in different time periods. It made me love reading (or at least it was the first book I read in school that I chose to read and wasn’t forced to read). I loved rainbow fish. Cloudy with a chance of meatballs. Hope this helps!

    • Ah thank you, I will definitely look into these, Time Cat sounds particularly interesting. I had no idea Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs was a book! I need to get this, I love the film!

  3. Out of my mind, fudge books by: Judy blume, The first 2 harry potters would also be easy, fun reads for kids, narnia. These are mostly chapter books, for more advanced readers, but james patterson has a site where he and others put on books from picture books to teen books, that might be helpful,[http://readkiddoread.com] Also the site [http://whatshouldireadnext.com] would help you b/c you can type in one good kid book and get 20 like it. Hope this helped.

Leave a Reply

