Waiting on Wednesday #8

New WoWIt’s that time again lovelies, Waiting on Wednesday, days are just flying by at the moment. I started my preliminary placement at a primary school on Monday and it has been…manic. Wonderful but manic. The children have inspired my WoW this week, I overheard some of them discussing this book. I was amazed that 10year olds even think about pre-orders but it seems that they do, thanks to their parents or older siblings Kindle Fires!

Dragons at Crumbling Castle: And Other Stories.terry

By Terry Pratchett

Release date: 11th September.

From Amazon:

“Dragons have invaded Crumbling Castle, and all of King Arthur’s knights are either on holiday or visiting their grannies. It’s a disaster!

Luckily, there’s a spare suit of armour and a very small boy called Ralph who’s willing to fill it. Together with Fortnight the Friday knight and Fossfiddle the wizard, Ralph sets out to defeat the fearsome fire-breathers.

But there’s a teeny weeny surprise in store . . .

Fourteen fantastically funny stories from master storyteller Sir Terry Pratchett, full of time travel and tortoises, monsters and mayhem!

‘So funny I dropped my spoon laughing!’ – King Arthur

Over the last couple of months I have been reigniting my love of Children’s Literature thanks to my PGCE prep; children’s books are some of the best around. They provide some light-hearted fun for the older bookworm.

Terry Pratchett’s literary prowess is well-know, he is a firm figure in the adult sci-fi genre, but perhaps a little less established in children’s literature. I will be delighted to see how this book is received by the children it is intended for and will also, no doubt, enjoy reading it myself. King Arthur, dragons, humour and adventure what more could one ask for?

Leave a Reply

