The Making of Harry Potter.

 

Yesterday was one of the most amazing days of my life. A real childhood dream came true – I went to Hogwarts!

For my birthday back in July, my Mum bought 3 tickets for Warner Bros Studio Tours in London – The Making of Harry Potter. This was one of the best presents I could have received. Those of you that have read my blog from the beginning, follow me of Instagram or Twitter, will know that gatesI am Harry Potter crazy and have been for the majority of my life.knight bus

The first Harry Potter book was released when I was 5, I read it when I was 7, and I completely fell in love with the magical world of Harry Potter and his adventures at Hogwarts. Since then I have read each of the seven books at least 4times each; The Philosopher’s Stone, The Prisoner of Azkaban and The Deathly Hallows more like 5 or 6 times each, they’re my top three. I have fond memories of the book releases, the movie releases, when shops first began selling Chocolate Frogs and Bertie Botts Every Flavour Beans, the coins that you could collect at Asda if you had enough tokens (anyone else remember those? Did you complete your set?). In a nutshell, Harry Potter was my childhood and has been a huge part of my life since I read the first book.

I have been wanting to go to the tour for years and I had kind of resigned myself to the fact that I would probably never get to go. When Mum told me that she had booked tickets I actually cried! For a 22 year old that may seem a bit pathetic but it’s the truth. For the last month my excitement has been building, on Sunday I could barely say Harry Potter or Warner Bros without my face cracking into a big, goofy grin. My fiancé thinks I’m nuts (though he was insistent that I got him a Chocolate Frog!)

Yesterday was the day, and what a day it was. If you have been then surely you know exactly what I mean, if you haven’t then oh goodness you need to go. My Mum, sister and I had the most amazing time. My sister had been before but I think the sheer excitement seeping from mine and my butterbeerMum’s every pore rubbed off on her. I stood outside the Hogwarts Gates, I walked through the doors of the Great Hall, common roomand I saw Hagrid’s Cabin, the Gryffindor Common Room, the flying car, the Knight Bus, Aragog, Buckbeak and much much more. I even drank Butterbeer! Oh my, it was delicious, although it was cold. I’m 99% certain that they have hot Butterbeer, they definitely do in Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban I was reading it on the coach on the way there.

Towards the end of the tour there is a breath-taking model of the Hogwarts castle and grounds. I got all teary eyed when we walked into that room. All Potterheads need to see it. I could be raving about this tour for months and months so do yourself a favour my lovelies and go and see it for yourself.

As I am almost certain that I won’t get to go back to the tour I went to town in the gift shop at the end of the tour. That in itself is a little piece of heaven. You need to spend a good hour or so in there to make sure you don’t miss anything. Here is a list of my purchases:

  • Butterbeer souvenir cup. haul
  • The Marauder’s Map mug.
  • Expecto Patronum t-shirt.
  • Two Chocolate Frogs (1 for me, 1 for Lee).
  • Chocolate Wand.
  • Ravenclaw badge keyring.
  • Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them book.
  • Signed hardcover Special Edition copy of Harry Potter and the Philosper’s Stone (the last one!)

I am now having a Harry Potter movie marathon, currently on The Prisoner of Azkaban, I’m also going to reread the books as they are just amazing.

I LOVE HARRY POTTER!!!

2 comments on “The Making of Harry Potter.

Leave a Reply

