The Works 3: A Poet A Week

 

 The Works 3: A Poet A Week.

Chosen by Paul Cookson.

Pages: 524

Rating: 5/5.poetry

From the back cover:

“The Works 3 really does include a poet a week – that’s 52 poets and 364 of the best poems of all time. It provides a fantastic variety of forms and styles and all manner of subject matter.

There are ballads, riddles, tongue-twisters, sonnets, shape poems, raps, narrative verses and haikus; it contains poems about seasons, festivals, animals, birds, love, war, life and death, food, fish and football, to name quite a few. And there is a biography of each poet at the beginning of his or her week.

It is another essential book for teachers, but also a joyful celebration of poets and poetry, which readers will return to again and again.”

What a delightful collection of poetry! I hadn’t read poetry for a good few years before I picked up this book but it has definitely reaffirmed my love for all different types of poetry. This is another of my ‘Recommended Reading’ books for my PGCE, I’m getting through some really good ones just lately! I enjoyed reading poetry that I was previously unfamiliar with, such as shape poems and raps. I loved the humorous poems; the limericks and nonsense poems. I marked all of my favourites with post-its, as you can see in the picture, so that I can find them again easily.

The short biographies of each poet were interesting to read, especially for those poets whom I had no knowledge. If I was left to chose my own poetry collections then the number of poets would be rather small, this is not my area, however, having this wonderful collection of 52 poets gave a really diverse reading experience. It’s a mixed bag; from Lewis Carroll’s Jabberwocky and the limericks of Edward Lear to the War poems of Wilfred Owen and the poet laureate Carol Ann Duffy. I would definitely recommend The Works collections of poems, especially for those who are just beginning to dip their toes into the world of poetry.

Here is one of my favourites from a poet I had never heard of before I read this collection.

James Carter

James Carter

 

 

Leave a Reply

