Interview with Gabriella Lepore

 

Having fallen in love with her work, I was so excited when Gabriella Lepore agreed to answer some of my questions! Here are the questions alongside the answers that Gabriella Lepore gave. I loved reading them, I hope you do too.

***

The settings for your novels are quite vague, as though they could be of this world or another, do you have a specific place in mind when you write?

Yes, I tend to base my books on real places, but I exaggerate them for the purpose of the story. When I’m writing I try to spend as much time as possible in the places I’m writing about. The Witches of the Glass Castle was set at Tortworth Court and Arboretum in Gloucestershire, and How I Found You was set in a manor house hotel in Redditch. Evanescent was a bit closer to home as I based it around Castell Coch in South Wales. The castle is only a few minutes from where I live, so when I was working on the first draft I would go there nearly every day and just sit in the courtyard with my notebook!

The main setting for both The Witches of the Glass Castle and Evanescent is a castle, is there a reason for this?

I love castles! I get inspiration from old buildings, or forests, and the stories and characters unfold from there.

I love the magical elements to your novels, particularly Mia and Colt’s powers, what made you write about magic and witches?

I’ve always been fascinated by witches—in all their different forms. With The Witches of the Glass Castle, I really enjoyed writing the subtleties of their powers, and how these powers reflect who the characters essentially are. They are their powers.

Nature is also a prominent feature in your writing, are the elements and nature important to you?

Absolutely. I think there’s something quite magical about woodlands and forests, and I can’t help but daydream when I’m outdoors. Also, I’m a firm believer that being out in nature is good for the soul!

Do you target your books to a specific audience?

Myself! It may sound weird, but I only write books that I would want to read. I fall in love with the characters and the setting, and I get to watch the story play out as I write it. I never know what’s going to happen until it happens! In terms of genre, I like YA, supernatural, with dry humour, and a touch of who-dunnit!

You have said that there is to be a second instalment of The Witches of Glass Castle, which I for one am extremely excited about, could you give any hint as to when it will be released?

Yes! It’s finally done and I’m relieved to say that I’m happy with the outcome! I don’t have a release date at this stage, but I would hope it’d be sometime later this year or early next year.

Are you working on anything else at the moment?

I have two other completed YAs—both of which are in the final stages of the editing process.

Now for a few fun questions; what is your favourite book of all time?

That is such a good question! I have about five that spring to mind. If I had to choose one though, I’d probably say ‘Pentecost and the Chosen One’ by W J Corbett. It’s a children’s book that I read when I was younger. I think it set the bar for how I feel humour should be used in a book—i.e. ironic and sarcastic!

What three things would you take with you on a desert island?

A solar powered ipod (yep, that’s a thing!), a book (maybe something like ‘Beginners Guide to Surviving on a Desert Island), and cookie dough ice cream (needs no explanation).

Do you have any specific writing rituals?

I don’t have a specific pattern, but I do have one rule: If the words aren’t flowing, just STOP! Come back to it later with a clear head. My motto is: If you’re not enjoying writing it, who’s going to enjoy reading it?

Reading or writing?

Writing!

Favourite film of all time?

Hocus Pocus. Can I tell you a secret…Hocus Pocus has been my favourite film for the past 17 years! I really need to go to the movies more often!

If you weren’t an author, what profession do you think you would be in?

Private detective, of course!

Was your childhood dream to be a writer?

Yes! I remember telling my friend when I was about 8 years old that I wanted to be a writer. I don’t think either of us actually believed it would happen, though!

Do you believe in magic?

One hundred percent, yes! There’s always a bit of magic waiting for you just around the corner…all you have to do is look out for it 😉

Once again, thank you so much!

Thank YOU so much for the interview!

Leave a Reply

