In a Reading Slump.

Reading Slump

A period in which all books seem uninteresting. Symptoms include: being unable to finding all books dull or boring, not finding the usual joy in books of ones favourite genre, significant decrease in reading speed, lack of book buying etc.

*

This is me right now, I’m in a serious reading slump. I would say that this is my first ever real slump, I have previously experienced a day or two where I simply cannot focus on a book because my mind is on other things, but this is something else entirely. I have no reason to be experiencing such problems getting into a book, especially not one that I know is good because I keep catching glimpses of the magic within the pages before my attention wanders and all is lost. It’s almost cruel. I have the week off of work, perfect time to be working through my ever expanding TBR list, but oh no, my brain has other ideas and would rather stare aimlessly at the wall for hours. So stupid!

My PGCE course is fast approaching, just 2 months to go, and I have a reading list as long as my arm that I need to get through before I begin. In my current situation this seems like an impossible task. Why oh why? When I first saw the ‘Recommended Reading’ list I was really excited; it contains work by many of my favourite authors of children’s literature. Authors such as; Michael Morpurgo, Jacqueline Wilson, David Almond, Roald Dhal, Anne Fine and Philip Pullman. I’m currently battling my way through Northern Lights by Philip Pullman, the first book in the His Dark Materials Trilogy (known as The Golden Compass in America), a book that I have been wanting to read for many a year now. In five days I have managed 100pages! That’s it. Just 100 poxy pages. What is happening to me?!

Even when I am at work I can usually finish a 400page book in 4-5days, when I’m not a work this would drop down to around 3 days, even just a day if I don’t have any other plans. 100 pages in 5 days is practically unheard of for me. I am not liking this at all, I am absolutely desperate to get my reading mojo back. Do any of you fellow bookworms have any suggestions? Have you been experiencing a reading slump too? How did you get out of it?

Please help me!

Yours sincerely,

A broken-hearted bookworm.

9 comments on “In a Reading Slump.

  1. I’m reading the Talented series by Sophie Davis right now. They are amazing! I cannot put them down. I put the reviews for Talented (#1) and Caged (#2) on my blog so you can check them out. I’m about to start Hunted (#3)

    • 3 weeks! That’s such a long time to be in a reading slump, I bet it was horrible. I downloaded The Witches of Glass Castle by Gabriella Lepore onto my kindle after seeing good reviews on Instagram. In 3 and a half hours I’d finished it! Really hoping that is a sign of getting back on track and not just that it is a truly incredible book. If it carries on I shall turn to Hogwarts 🙂 as help will always be given to those that ask!

      • I need to get out of this slump so I can read all of the books I need to for university. Harry Potter is always a good place to turn I think :).
        I was looking at your books online and they sound really good but I couldn’t see anywhere that sells them in the UK?

      • Yes, Harry Potter is a great place to turn! 🙂

        First: thanks so much for taking interest in our books! Our books are sold worldwide online, but I’m not familiar with book sellers in the UK. (I’m all the way in Canada.)

        Is Waterstones in the UK? If so, I found our 2nd book there: http://www.waterstones.com/waterstonesweb/products/sarena+and+sasha+nanua/the+king27s+jewel/11042746/

        If you’re interested in buying our books, our 3rd one comes out late August. We will be re-releasing the first one so if you’d like to wait just a bit longer, maybe you can get the whole trilogy together (some people prefer doing that).

        🙂

    • I loved Skellig and it was an easy read, just a couple of hours :). I’ve not gotten much further with Northern Lights yet but I’m still reading bits at a time and enjoying it. It may just be one of those books that I just can’t sit down and read cover to cover. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

