The Book Blogger Test

So I came across this wonderful blog yesterday The Book Gleeks and they had posted a Book Blogger Test from She Loves to Read. I thought it looked like a lot of fun and a great way for me to introduce myself and my book reading habits to everyone.

Here is the picture {Cred to She Loves to Read}

Image

What are your top three book pet hates?

1 . Repetition – I cannot stand it when the same words or phrases are repeated over and over, there are millions of words out there use something different!

2. Airhead female characters –  Gritty, independent, strong heroines are so much more interesting that one dimensional airheads who have no gumption at all and just whine about needing a man or about how their hair isn’t perfect. Who cares? Get out there and have some adventure. Live life to the full!

3. Let down sequels –  Sometimes it seems that authors write a great first novel that is full of promise and then they are offered a contract to write say a six book series, when in reality they had only intended to do a trilogy. Rather than stay true to their characters and the world that they have created they drag out scenarios and input scenes that just don’t fit. Why ruin something perfect, just for money. A well-written trilogy is so much better than a half-hearted attempt at a series.

Describe your perfect reading spot.

This will sound really cheesy and a bit cliché but it is the truth; my perfect reading spot is in the arms of my fiancé. We get comfortable of the settee and he watches telly or plays his video games and I read my book. It’s so relaxing, and nice to have the comfort there when I start to get emotional. Also a cup of tea/coffee is an absolute must!

Tell us three book confessions.

1. I have left books unfinished – biggest sin of a book blogger I know. Sorry!

2. Aside from Jane Austen and Dracula by Bram Stoker I cannot seem to get on with the Classics.

3. When re-reading books I sometimes skip the chapters or passages that I don’t like.

When was the last time you cried at a book?

Yesterday, when I finished The Death and Life of Charlie St. Cloud. I cry a lot when reading.

How many books are on your bedside table?

At the moment there are 7 books, I’m only reading one, and my Kindle.

What is your favourite snack whilst reading?

When I’m at work I read whilst on my lunchbreak, so I’m normally eating salad or pasta and fruit. At home I snack on berries and of course some chocolate 🙂

Name three books you’d recommend to everyone.

The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings. (You should go follow her on Instagram for great pics and lots of updates @authorlindsaycummings)

The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger ( my favourite book of all time!)

The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom.

Show us a picture of your favourite bookshelf on your bookcase.

I don’t have a picture of my bookshelves, nor do I have a favourite. There’s no real order to my bookcase so would be hard to have a favourite shelf.

Write how much books mean to you in just three words.

Books are life.

What is your biggest reading secret?

I’m 21 years old, almost 22, yet rather than reading ‘adult books’ I love nothing more that YA fiction and Children’s books. Sod high brow! Good thing I’m to teach primary school!

I’ve really enjoyed answering these questions, I hope you liked reading it :).

Much love.

2 comments on “The Book Blogger Test

  1. Thank you so much for mentioning our blog! It means a lot to know that we’re actually doing okay since we’re fairly new. It’s so cool to see others do this tag and know that I kind of started something even though it’s not my tag – including the images those are actually from She Loves to Read as well.. 🙂 I’ve gotta read some of the books you’ve mentioned!

    • You’re most welcome 🙂 I’m completely new to the blogging scene so when I came across your blog I was delighted, I just hope that my own will turn out half as good as yours! Let me know what you think of the books if you read any :).

Leave a Reply

